Domain Discussion Board

Go Back   Domain Discussion Board > Domain Names > Domain Name Discussion

 
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#1 (permalink))
fourwings
Executive Member
fourwings is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 260
Points: 1.6
Bank: 11,963.0
Total Points: 11,964.6
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Rep Power: 1
Is it a Scam ? - 02-02-2008, 05:56 AM

Hello Friends,

I got few mails like this " my client / cousin is in need of a domain , i have a shipping company, he is interested in xxxxxxxx.com , you give your name and address. My client will pay you in the form of check. note the check amount will be more than your price. you take your domains price and forward the balance cash to me via westernunion mail me if you are trust worthy. "

If i receive such mail offers, what i have to do. I feel these are some sort of scams

I wish my friends to review on this subject.

Thanks,


Free Sweet Rewards UK > All Koreans Online community

fey.co.in , yak.co.in , jib.co.in at SEDO for Sale

List DOMAINS for free : www.collisiondomains.com ( domain aftermarket )

Job Site : www.Timelyjobs.com ; www.GoAcres.com Real estate site.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#2 (permalink))
lamine
Member
lamine is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 68
Points: 259.4
Bank: 0.0
Total Points: 259.4
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: /mycomputer
Rep Power: 1
Re: Is it a Scam ? - 02-02-2008, 08:39 AM

i think it ies a scam,i have also reseived mails who say that i win money but they are all ways to steal our money
   
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Re: Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#3 (permalink))
fourwings
Executive Member
fourwings is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 260
Points: 1.6
Bank: 11,963.0
Total Points: 11,964.6
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Rep Power: 1
Re: Is it a Scam ? - 02-02-2008, 11:21 AM

The thing you refer is a pure scam i know. But in my case , They clearly represent that they saw my advertisement in a social media site. They make price confirmations on a particular domain. Then only they ask name & address only to forward cash by check.

Thinking something "like this, like that" wont work out - please don't tell your guessing. If any body faced such a situation (or) have an experience with such customers may respond please !


Free Sweet Rewards UK > All Koreans Online community

fey.co.in , yak.co.in , jib.co.in at SEDO for Sale

List DOMAINS for free : www.collisiondomains.com ( domain aftermarket )

Job Site : www.Timelyjobs.com ; www.GoAcres.com Real estate site.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#4 (permalink))
killer kowalski
Executive Member
killer kowalski is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 427
Points: 241.7
Bank: 9,325.9
Total Points: 9,567.6
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canuckleheadland
Rep Power: 1
Re: Is it a Scam ? - 02-02-2008, 11:57 AM

Those are Nigerian scam e-mails. Look them up on wikipedia. Don't trust anything you get from people like this.
   
Reply With Quote
Is it a Scam ? YES!
Old
  (#5 (permalink))
rijeka
Platinum Member
rijeka is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 936
Points: 2,031.9
Bank: 3,060.3
Total Points: 5,092.1
Donate
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: HoldIMG.com
Rep Power: 1
Exclamation Is it a Scam ? YES! - 02-02-2008, 12:04 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fourwings View Post
Hello Friends,

I got few mails like this " my client / cousin is in need of a domain , i have a shipping company, he is interested in xxxxxxxx.com , you give your name and address. My client will pay you in the form of check. note the check amount will be more than your price. you take your domains price and forward the balance cash to me via westernunion mail me if you are trust worthy. "

If i receive such mail offers, what i have to do. I feel these are some sort of scams

I wish my friends to review on this subject.

Thanks,
Yes it's a scam, because if he has money he could buy a domain himself... He's just trying to scam you Don't fall for that. Don't fall for anything you get over e-mail from someone you don't know!
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#6 (permalink))
fourwings
Executive Member
fourwings is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 260
Points: 1.6
Bank: 11,963.0
Total Points: 11,964.6
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Rep Power: 1
Re: Is it a Scam ? - 02-02-2008, 09:30 PM

I select domain celebrityporn and i told you in my previous mail that i'm purchasing this item on behalf of my client. And my client will be using check as the mode of payment. But the issue is that the amount on the check is more than your item fee.I'll take care of shipping myself with my shipping company account#. So i now want you to promise me that as soon as you receive the check, you'l only deduct the money for the item and westernunion the balance immediately. I want you to tell me that you're trustworthy. If you can, i want you to get back to me with your full name and address so that i can give to my client to mail you the payment.


thanks


{ This is the mail fowarded by the domain buyer } - Is it a scam / how ? please write in detail


Free Sweet Rewards UK > All Koreans Online community

fey.co.in , yak.co.in , jib.co.in at SEDO for Sale

List DOMAINS for free : www.collisiondomains.com ( domain aftermarket )

Job Site : www.Timelyjobs.com ; www.GoAcres.com Real estate site.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#7 (permalink))
fourwings
Executive Member
fourwings is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 260
Points: 1.6
Bank: 11,963.0
Total Points: 11,964.6
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Rep Power: 1
Re: Is it a Scam ? - 02-02-2008, 10:10 PM

Now i read the Nigerian scams " criminal code - 419 " oh so many colorful scams. i learned from wikipedia, payments through western union is irreversible & deal with fraudulent checks will end up some sort of problems

Thanks to the senior member " killer kowalski " for pointing the Nigerian e-mail scam


Free Sweet Rewards UK > All Koreans Online community

fey.co.in , yak.co.in , jib.co.in at SEDO for Sale

List DOMAINS for free : www.collisiondomains.com ( domain aftermarket )

Job Site : www.Timelyjobs.com ; www.GoAcres.com Real estate site.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#8 (permalink))
killer kowalski
Executive Member
killer kowalski is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 427
Points: 241.7
Bank: 9,325.9
Total Points: 9,567.6
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canuckleheadland
Rep Power: 1
Re: Is it a Scam ? - 02-02-2008, 11:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by fourwings View Post
Now i read the Nigerian scams " criminal code - 419 " oh so many colorful scams. i learned from wikipedia, payments through western union is irreversible & deal with fraudulent checks will end up some sort of problems

Thanks to the senior member " killer kowalski " for pointing the Nigerian e-mail scam
No problem, man. Always wanna help. Just... everyone, ignore any e-mails you get that even sound like that. You get scammed big time.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#9 (permalink))
fourwings
Executive Member
fourwings is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 260
Points: 1.6
Bank: 11,963.0
Total Points: 11,964.6
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Rep Power: 1
Re: Is it a Scam ? - 02-03-2008, 02:31 AM

Which is the best method to receive payments from buyers for the sale of domains / any product.


Free Sweet Rewards UK > All Koreans Online community

fey.co.in , yak.co.in , jib.co.in at SEDO for Sale

List DOMAINS for free : www.collisiondomains.com ( domain aftermarket )

Job Site : www.Timelyjobs.com ; www.GoAcres.com Real estate site.
   
Reply With Quote
Re: Is it a Scam ?
Old
  (#10 (permalink))
domainman
Junior Member
domainman is on a distinguished road
 
Status: Offline
Posts: 16
Points: 582.3
Bank: 0.0
Total Points: 582.3
Donate
Join Date: Jan 2008
Rep Power: 0
Re: Is it a Scam ? - 02-03-2008, 03:00 AM

Use Escrow.com, or Moniker escrow.

Quote:
Originally Posted by fourwings View Post
Which is the best method to receive payments from buyers for the sale of domains / any product.
   
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Points Per Thread View: 0.1
Points Per Thread: 15.0
Points Per Reply: 5.0


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft’s Free domain another Scam ! beaudoin Chit-Chat Area - Internet Related 15 04-23-2007 09:33 PM
This Site is Not A Scam! Believe Me!!! nadish DDboard.com Testimonials Forum 5 03-20-2007 06:04 AM
Latest Web Scam Uses BBC News as Bait canadianus Chit-Chat Area - Internet Related 0 06-20-2006 02:53 PM
Scam Artist - Phd hml21st Legal Stuff 2 03-27-2006 05:55 AM


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2008, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.0.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.